Boubacar Kante

2017 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award: Professor Boubacar Kante

Congratulation to Professor Boubacar Kante for his 2017 ONR Young Investigator Award in the division of Aerospace Sci

chris ellis

2017 Gordon Engineering Leadership Award: Chris Ellis

The engineering students of today are the technology leaders -- and job-creators -- of tomorrow.

Michael Yip

2017 Hellman Award: Professor Michael Yip

Established by Warren & Chris Hellman and their children in 1994, the purpose of the Hellman Fellows Program is t


2017 Best Paper Award ISCB GLBIO: Mai Uyen, Erfan Sayyari, and Professor Siavash Mirarab

Graduate students Mai Uyen and  Erfan Sayyari received the Best Student Paper Award at the Great Lakes Bioi


2017 Pinnacle Award for Outstanding Educator: Professor Pamela Cosman

San Diego, Calif., May 22, 2017 – Pamela Cosman, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Piya Pal

Best Student Paper Award, IEEE ICASSP: Heng Qiao and Professor Piya Pal

Graduate student Heng Qiao received the Best Student Paper Award (first place) at the 42nd IEEE International Confere


2017 IEEE NTC Early Career Award: Professor Duygu Kuzum

For her pioneering contributions towards the development of nanoelectronic synaptic devices for neuromorphic computin


2017 Optical Society Award: Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize

University of California San Diego Professor of Advanced Optical Technologies in Electrical and Computer Engineering,

 Siavash Mirarab

2017 Sloan Research Fellow: Professor Siavash Mirarab

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2017 Sloan Research Fellowships.

mohan trivedi

UC San Diego Electrical Engineer Accepts Alumni Award for Alma Mater in India

University of California San Diego Distinguished Professor Mohan Trivedi in the Electrical and Computer Engineering d

eric fullerton

2017 Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair Award - Professor Eric Fullerton


Home institution: University of California, San Diego

Joe Ford Lab

2017 IEEE Fellow - Professor Joe Ford

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth percent of the members.

Nuno Lab

2017 IEEE Fellow - Professor Nuno Vasconcelos

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth percent of the members.


2016-17 Hellman Fellowship - Professor Vikash Gilja

Professor Vikash Gilja receives Hellman Fellowship for his research on brain-machine interfaces using neural signals

Michael Yip

2016 IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters Best Paper Award: Professor Michael Yip

About the Award

best teacher

2015-16 Best Teacher Awards

The ECE Department was pleased to honor and present Professor Vikash Gilja with the Jacobs School Best Undergraduate

pam cosman

2016 UC San Diego Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action & Diversity Award - Professor Pam Cosman

The annual Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action and Diversity Awards Program honors staff, faculty, students, depart


2016 IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Achievement Award - Professor Bhaskar Rao

The IEEE Technical Achievement Award honors a person who, over a period of years, has made outstanding technical cont

Piya Pal

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Piya Pal

Prior to joining the UC San Diego faculty, Professor Piya Pal received an NSF CAREER Award for a pro

Boubacar Kante

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Boubacar Kante

Professor Boubacar Kante was selected for his project on "Bound State in the Continuum Lasers." The