2017 Pinnacle Award for Outstanding Educator

San Diego, Calif., May 22, 2017 – Pamela Cosman, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, is being honored for her exemplary leadership among women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Cosman was… Learn more

Piya Pal

Best Student Paper Award

Graduate student Heng Qiao received the Best Student Paper Award (first place) at the 42nd IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP) 2017. The paper is titled:

Heng Qiao, Piya Pal, "Unified Analysis of Co-Array… Learn more


2017 IEEE NTC Early Career Award: Professor Duygu Kuzum

For her pioneering contributions towards the development of nanoelectronic synaptic devices for neuromorphic computing, congratulations to Prof. Kuzum. 

best teacher

2015-16 Best Teacher Awards

The ECE Department was pleased to honor and present Professor Vikash Gilja with the Jacobs School Best Undergraduate Teacher Award, and Professors Paul Siegel and Ian Galton with the ECE Best Graduate Teacher Awards for 2015-16.  These outstanding instructors continually inspire students by… Learn more


2017 Optical Society Award: Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize

University of California San Diego Professor of Advanced Optical Technologies in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Y. Shaya Fainman, has accepted the Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize from the Optical Society which recognizes significant research accomplishments in the field of… Learn more

 Siavash Mirarab

2017 Sloan Research Fellow: Professor Siavash Mirarab

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation congratulates the winners of the 2017 Sloan Research Fellowships. These early-career scholars represent the most promising scientific researchers working today. Their achievements and potential place them among the next generation of scientific leaders in the U.S.… Learn more

mohan trivedi

UC San Diego Electrical Engineer Accepts Alumni Award for Alma Mater in India

University of California San Diego Distinguished Professor Mohan Trivedi in the Electrical and Computer Engineering department has accepted the Maheshwari Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), Pilani, in the Indian state of Rajasthan. The award is… Learn more

pam cosman

2016 UC San Diego Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action & Diversity Award - Professor Pam Cosman

The annual Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action and Diversity Awards Program honors staff, faculty, students, departments, and organizational units or groups that make outstanding contributions in the areas of equal opportunity, affirmative action, diversity, and the … Learn more

eric fullerton

2017 Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair Award - Professor Eric Fullerton

The Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair award was created in 2005 in commemoration of the bicentennial celebration of Alexis de Tocqueville’s birthday and the centennial celebration of U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright’s birthday. The award, the most prestigious offered by the Franco-… Learn more


2016 IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Achievement Award - Professor Bhaskar Rao

The IEEE Technical Achievement Award honors a person who, over a period of years, has made outstanding technical contributions to theory and/or practice in technical areas within the scope of the Society, as demonstrated by publications, patents, or recognized impact on the field. We would like… Learn more

Joe Ford Lab

2017 IEEE Fellow - Professor Joe Ford

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow… Learn more

Nuno Lab

2017 IEEE Fellow - Professor Nuno Vasconcelos

Each year, the IEEE Board of Directors confers the grade of Fellow on up to one-tenth percent of the members. To qualify for consideration, an individual must have been a Member, normally for five years or more, and a Senior Member at the time for nomination to Fellow. The grade of Fellow… Learn more


2016-17 Hellman Fellowship - Professor Vikash Gilja

Professor Vikash Gilja receives Hellman Fellowship for his research on brain-machine interfaces using neural signals to control prosthetic devices.

Piya Pal

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Piya Pal

Prior to joining the UC San Diego faculty, Professor Piya Pal received an NSF CAREER Award for a project on “Smart Sampling and Correlation-Driven Inference for High-Dimensional Signals.” The five-year award will allow Pal to develop a systematic theory of smart sampling and… Learn more

Boubacar Kante

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Boubacar Kante

Professor Boubacar Kante was selected for his project on "Bound State in the Continuum Lasers." The project aims to "investigate and develop for the first time a novel type of laser that exploits a novel confinement method for light inspired by early theoretical works in quantum… Learn more

Roberto Padovani

2016 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal Recipient - Roberto Padovani

The third-generation (3G) cellular technology enabled by the vision and leadership of Roberto Padovani is transforming lives around the word by supporting voice and wireless Internet access via mobile devices to over 3 billion people.  Padovani provided key leadership in… Learn more

Gabriel Rebeiz image

2016 National Academy of Engineering member - Professor Gabriel Rebeiz

In 2016 ECE Prof. Gabriel Rebeiz was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, one of the highest professional honors for engineers. He was recognized for his “contributions to radio-frequency micro-electronmechanical systems (RF MEMS) and phased-array technologies.”… Learn more

Mohan Trivedi

2015 IEEE ITSS Institutional Lead Award - Professor Mohan Trivedi

Mohan Trivedi's Laboratory for Intelligent and Safe Automobiles receives IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society's Institutional Lead Award in September 2015.