Awards - Faculty


Professor Patrick Mercier awarded 2020 San Diego Engineering Council Outstanding Engineering Award

Professor Patrick Mercier has been awarded the 2020 San Diego County Engineering Council's Outstanding Engineering Award. Awarded to one engineer in the San Diego County area…
Siavesh Mirarab

Assistant Professor Siavash Mirarab Receives NSF CAREER Award

Jennifer Hollis, Qualcomm Institute Writer   UC San Diego Electrical Computing and Engineering assistant professor, Siavash Mirarab, was recently awarded a 2019 National…
Piya Pal

Assistant Professor Piya Pal Wins Highly-Competitive Young Investigator Award

Assistant professor Piya Pal, an expert in signal processing, has received a 2019 Young Investigator Award from the U.S. Office of Naval Research (ONR) to advance the Navy’s sonar…
tara javidi

Professor Tara Javidi awarded 2018 Qualcomm Faculty Award

Professor Tara Javidi has been awarded the 2018 Qualcomm Faculty Award. The Qualcomm Faculty Award (QFA) supports key professors and their research through a charitable…
Shadi Dayeh

Professor Shadi Dayeh receives 2018 ISCS Young Scientist Award

Read more here
Behrouz Touri

Behrouz Touri receives 2018 Donald P. Eckman Award

The American Automatic Control Council has selected Behrouz Touri, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of California San Diego, to receive the…
Dinesh Bharadia

2018 Forbes 30 Under 30

It was a long-standing assumption that it was impossible for a radio to transmit and receive at the same time at the same frequency. Professor Dinesh Bharadia proved that…
Farinaz Koushanfar

2018 ICCAD Ten Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper Award 

Please join us in congratulating Professor Farinaz Koushanfar, who has been awarded the ICCAD Ten Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper Award for the following paper…

2018 IEEE Fellow

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of…
David Whelan

2018 IEEE Fellow

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of…
Nambi Seshadri

2018 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal

Awarded for exceptional contributions to communications and networking sciences and engineering SAN JOSE, Calif., Dec. 05, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Quantenna Communications…

2017 Triton Innovation Challenge grand prize winner

Solid State LIDAR Startup from Jacobs School Wins Biz Competition   (Updated 12/4/17 to reflect the contributions of UC San Diego electrical engineering PhD student…
Tina Ng

2017 Chemical Science Award from the 9th Asian Conference on Organic Electronics

Please join us to congratulate Professor Tina Ng.  Her group (with postdoc Zhenghui Wu and graduate student Weichuan Yao) won the Chemical Science Award from…
patrick mercier

2017 Biocom Life Sciences Catalyst Award

Biocom, the association representing the California life science community, today announced the winners of its second annual Life Science Catalyst Awards. The program celebrates…

2017 NSF Award to Professors Piya Pal, Duygu Kuzum and Takaki Komiyama

Researchers at the University of California San Diego have developed a new way to record neural activity in the brain by combining macro-scale electrophysiology with micro-scale…
Boubacar Kante

2017 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award: Professor Boubacar Kante

Congratulations to Professor Boubacar Kante for his 2017 ONR Young Investigator Award in the division of Aerospace Science Research.…
Michael Yip

2017 Hellman Award: Professor Michael Yip

Established by Warren & Chris Hellman and their children in 1994, the purpose of the Hellman Fellows Program is to support the research of promising assistant professors who…

2017 Pinnacle Award for Outstanding Educator: Professor Pamela Cosman

San Diego, Calif., May 22, 2017 – Pamela Cosman, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, is being…

2017 IEEE NTC Early Career Award: Professor Duygu Kuzum

For her pioneering contributions towards the development of nanoelectronic synaptic devices for neuromorphic computing, congratulations to Prof. Kuzum. 

2017 Optical Society Award: Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize

University of California San Diego Professor of Advanced Optical Technologies in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Y. Shaya Fainman, has accepted the Joseph Fraunhofer Award/…