best teacher

2015-16 Best Teacher Awards

The ECE Department was pleased to honor and present Professor Vikash Gilja with the Jacobs School Best Undergraduate Teacher Award, and Professors Paul Siegel and Ian Galton with the ECE Best Graduate Teacher Awards for 2015-16.  These outstanding instructors continually inspire students by skillfully sharing the knowledge and expertise they have gained through their own studies.

pam cosman

2016 UC San Diego Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action & Diversity Award - Professor Pam Cosman

The annual Equal Opportunity/ Affirmative Action and Diversity Awards Program honors staff, faculty, students, departments, and organizational units or groups that make outstanding contributions in the areas of equal opportunity, affirmative action, diversity, and the UCSD Principles of Community during the year.


2016 IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Achievement Award - Professor Bhaskar Rao

The IEEE Technical Achievement Award honors a person who, over a period of years, has made outstanding technical contributions to theory and/or practice in technical areas within the scope of the Society, as demonstrated by publications, patents, or recognized impact on the field.

Piya Pal

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Piya Pal

Prior to joining the UC San Diego faculty, Professor Piya Pal received an NSF CAREER Award for a project on “Smart Sampling and Correlation-Driven Inference for High-Dimensional Signals.” The five-year award will allow Pal to develop a systematic theory of smart sampling and information retrieval algorithms for modern sensing systems.

Boubacar Kante

2016 NSF Career Award - Professor Boubacar Kante

Professor Boubacar Kante was selected for his project on "Bound State in the Continuum Lasers." The project aims to "investigate and develop for the first time a novel type of laser that exploits a novel confinement method for light inspired by early theoretical works in quantum mechanics." The technology could lead to development of novel light sources for communication, sensi

Roberto Padovani

2016 IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal Recipient - Roberto Padovani

The third-generation (3G) cellular technology enabled by the vision and leadership of Roberto Padovani is transforming lives around the word by supporting voice and wireless Internet access via mobile devices to over 3 billion people.  Padovani provided key leadership in developing and commercializing code-division-multiple-access (CDMA) technology during the 1980s and 1990s to

Gabriel Rebeiz image

2016 National Academy of Engineering member - Professor Gabriel Rebeiz

Research will help to realize more reliable airplane internet, faster smartphone connections and more.

Mohan Trivedi

2015 IEEE ITSS Institutional Lead Award - Professor Mohan Trivedi

Mohan Trivedi's Laboratory for Intelligent and Safe Automobiles receives IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society's Institutional Lead Award in September 2015.