2017 Exceptional Contributions Alumni Award

Congratulations to Natan Jacobson on his award!


2017 Distinguished Alumni Award

Congratulations to Raheleh Dilmaghani on her award!


2017 Best PhD Thesis Award

Congratulations to Jianzhi Wu on his best thesis award!

best TA

2017 Best TA Awards

Congratulations to Nikhil Das (SP16), Saharnaz Baghdadchi (FA16) and Sonika Obheroi (WI17) on their awards!

Michael Unanian

2017 Jacobs School of Engineering Department Award for Excellence

Congratulations to Michael Unanian on his Award of Excellence!

Boubacar Kante

2017 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award: Professor Boubacar Kante

Congratulations to Professor Boubacar Kante for his 2017 ONR Young Investigator Award in the division of Aerospace Science Research.


chris ellis

2017 Bernard and Sophia Gordon Engineering Leadership Award

Congratulations to Christopher Ellis on his leadership award!

Michael Yip

2017 Hellman Award: Professor Michael Yip

Established by Warren & Chris Hellman and their children in 1994, the purpose of the Hellman Fellows Program is to support the research of promising assistant professors who show capacity for great distinction in their chosen fields of endeavor.


2017 ISCB GLBIO Best Student Paper Award

Graduate students Mai Uyen and  Erfan Sayyari received the Best Student Paper Award at the Great Lakes Bioinformatics Conference, 2017. The paper is titled:

“Minimum Variance Rooting of Phylogenetic Trees and Implications for Species Tree Reconstruction.”


2017 Pinnacle Award for Outstanding Educator: Professor Pamela Cosman

San Diego, Calif., May 22, 2017 – Pamela Cosman, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, is being honored for her exemplary leadership among women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM).